Drop Box

What is Dropbox?

Dropbox is a free service that lets you bring all your photos, docs, and videos anywhere. This means that any file you save to your Dropbox will automatically save to all your computers, phones and even the Dropbox website. Dropbox also makes it super easy to share with others.

Using Dropbox

Dropbox is extremely simple to use. First, you have a Dropbox account for it (if not, you have to register an account). Then, you have two ways to upload the material to the "cloud". If you're using the desktop version of dropbox, you only have to copy the files into the public folder, and then, with the contextual menu get the public URL.

If you're not using the desktop version of Dropbox, you have to upload the files in the public folder and after, you have to get the public link to the file.

 

Registering

Go to dropbox.com Then click on the "Log In" link on the top right hand corner, it will pop down a login box. At the bottom of that box is a link to "Create An Account", click on that link to start your account registration.

 

Files Section

This section of the website is where you host all of your files, only those who you specifically want to share files with can see them, and each individual file can have different sharing permissions.

 

Uploading Files

Uploading any type of file is really easy, simply click on the "Files" tab, then browse your local computer for the files you want and upload them.

 

Sharing Files

By clicking on the "sharing" tab, you can now share your files that you've just uploaded with anybody.

Simply click on "Share a folder"

 

Next check the option "I'd like to share an existing folder", and click on the "Next" button.

 

Next, select from the files you've uploaded to select the ones that you want to share, then click the "Next" button.

 

In the first text box, type in the e-mail address of the individual that you want to be able to access this file. You can type in an optional message if you wish. When you're finished click on the "Share Folder" button.

 

That's it! You've now uploaded and shared your files on dropbox, only you and the people you allow can see these files.