St. Albert Chatter News

CHATTER is a program that helps children and teens develop social communication skills, and provides them with opportunities to make friends in the community. Many children registered in this program are diagnosed with autism.  However, a specific diagnosis is not required to enter. CHATTER is held at the St. Albert Servus Centre on Wednesday evenings.  Trained peers join the program to help mentor a CHATTER registrant who is learning how to communicate, socialize, and develop relationships. At least one parent or grandparent must attend the program to meet the Speech-Language Pathologist and learn about the goals targeted each week.

Ongoing parent training is provided simultaneously as children attend each session.  Parents meet in a separate area to learn how to target specific skills at home. We are thankful to the young peers (the "friends") who attend every week and make this program a successful learning experience for the CHATTER kids. CHATTER friends participate in role plays and generalization activities, and build relationships with the registrants.  The friends are eager to learn about children with social pragmatic disorders, and have made a significant impact on the quality of life and confidence of CHATTER kids.

Location Description Date
Fall 2016 Wednesday, Sep 14 2016
St. Albert Servus Place Session 1 Wednesday, Sep 14 2016
St. Albert Servus Place Session 2 Wednesday, Sep 21 2016
St. Albert Servus Place Session 3 Wednesday, Sep 28 2016
St. Albert Servus Place Session 4 Wednesday, Oct 05 2016
St. Albert Servus Place Session 5 Wednesday, Oct 12 2016
St. Albert Servus Place Session 6 Wednesday, Oct 19 2016
St. Albert Servus Place Session 7 Wednesday, Oct 26 2016
St. Albert Servus Place Session 8 Wednesday, Nov 02 2016
St. Albert Servus Place Session 9 Wednesday, Nov 09 2016
St. Albert Servus Place Session 10 Wednesday, Nov 16 2016
St. Albert Servus Place Session 11 Wednesday, Nov 23 2016
St. Albert Servus Place Session 12 Wednesday, Nov 30 2016
St. Albert Servus Place Reports Wednesday, Dec 07 2016